“I hope my pilot dies” said no one ever. Why it’s dumb to protest against Trump

While I was in Washington, D.C. with my class a couple weeks ago, I observed quite IMG_0416a bit of hatred toward our president. Graffiti emphatically declared “Dump Trump!” Stickers declaring abortion to be more popular than our president littered every flat surface they would stick to. “Resist the President!”stickers were stuck to the walls of the Metro escalators. I saw “not my president” protestors on the streets. I have something I would like to tell those people. Mr. Donald J. Trump is, in fact, your president if you are a citizen of the United States of America.

As Ben Shapiro famously tweeted, “Facts don’t care about your feelings.” President Trump is the president of this great nation whether or not you voted forIMG_0412 him or you like him. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, wanting President Trump to fail is like wanting the pilot of your plane to die. We are all in the same boat, and while he might be doing things you don’t agree with or approve of, protesting against his presidency will not accomplish anything real and concrete.
If you want change, contact your Congressmen. If you don’t like President Trump’s policies, fine. Organize a rally around a cause not against an individual. Fight for what you believe in, but don’t protest the man who could take us all down with him.

3 thoughts on ““I hope my pilot dies” said no one ever. Why it’s dumb to protest against Trump

  1. Veronika Jones says:

    Great perspective of the situation. Also, good for you for unapologetically expressing your beliefs and being educated on the matter. It’s always great to see people our age get involved!

    Like

Leave a Reply

